Tags

, , , , , , ,

You know what, screw the opening, let’s get right into this cesspool of failed potential and the epitome of my destroyed work ethic.

I woke around 9 AM and promptly got dressed in my completely overworn hiking clothes because today, I was going to hike an exclusive, and dangerous part of Macchu Picchu, Huayna Picchu. This is highest point in Macchu Picchu where there are still ruins present, and is limited to 200 visitors a day due to its small pathways and sometimes extremely dangerous conditions. Luckily the Inca God of Sun gave us his blessing and we awoke without there being no rain at all and nearly clear skies.

After meeting up with Elliot, we headed towards the entrance to Huayna Picchu, Enjoying some last peeks at Macchu Picchu’s lower ruins.

The Mountain on the Right is Huayna Picchu

Yep, Dad, That’s A Wall

After that short, just as beautiful, venture, we arrived at the Checkpoint.

After signing our names on the register, which is required to make sure that everyone makes it back at the end of the day so they dont have to send out search parties, we were on our way.

One last look at where we’re going

 

Ancient inca steps, which would take us to the top

The climb wasn’t actually that hard, as there was almost always ropes available to grab onto to keep your footing, but it was still terrifying as one wrong step meant certain death.

 

 

After around an hour of climbing the steep steps, we reached the start of the ruins, which were used as a military outpost in Inca times.

That’s Macchu Picchu in the Distance

But there, we were faced with another stressful climb up to the top of the ruins, because these inca stairs were extremely small covering only 1/4 of foot.

And then, the infamous death steps, which ,while not anymore dangerous than the prior steps, are the most terrifying part of the trip simply because of the fact that on your left is a one thousand foot drop.

My dad took over 10 minutes climbing these due to his claustrophobia. Of course, the views, are all worth it.

Shortly thereafter we made our descent, much slower than going up.

Afterwards we met up with the ladies and had lunch at the hotel restaurant, which was just as good as last night dinner. Afterwards, I took a shower and recuperate after the draining hike that was Huanya Picchu, and chilled for a couple hours until it was time for the tea reception for passengers on the Hiram Bingham train, which would be returning us to Cusco from Macchu Picchu. The tea service, while nothing hoity toity, got me very excited for what was to come on the actual train.

Shortly thereafter, we got back on the vertigo busses and headed back down to the base of the mountain. Macchu Picchu decided to give us a proper send off though, in the form of a clear sky with a rainbow.

The bus dropped us off back at the train station where I got my first glance at the might of the Hiram Bingham.

While we waited to be boarded onto the train, we sat in a nice waiting area with live music and free drinks. I decided to finally try Inca Kola, which I assumed was some sort of peruvian rip off of coke.

However as it turns out, it was actually made my Coca-Cola and was more of a strong cream soda, and for about a minute gave me extreme nostalgia, reminding me of a taste I thought I would never experience again, Melon Fanta, a drink available only in japan, and something I wouldn’t hesitate to put a bullet into the back of someone’s head for. However after a few more sips, this taste devolved into nothing more than a sugary mess, and I was again, disappointed.

Soon enough, we were boarded onto the train.

And wow…. It felt like something straight of the early 1900s in the heyday of european imperialism. We were told by the waiters that the bar and live music was ready in the entertainment cart if we wished to head inside.

Now, due to the total pretentiousness of the train so far I expected to be greeted by nothing more than a full on orchestra, and yet it seems the better name for the Hiram Bingham, would be, “the classy party train.”

The music was 3 peruvian electric guitarists, who straight out jammed for 40 minutes straight, yelling at the top of their lungs, and passing out maracas and tambourines. Sadly I lack any real good images of this event, due to the rockiness of a train, and because wordpress are greedy cucks who dont let you post videos without paying them.

After the impromptu rock concert, we had a nice and simple dinner back in our seats, which I also dont have photos have, for reasons unbeknownst to me.

By the time we got reached our hotel, I was extremely tired and passed out before I could take any more photos.

