Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

WAWAWEEWOW, its me, Sharp, back at it again with the cringey openings (kill me). Today I felt like writing a blog post, so here I am (I’m just kidding I don’t want to write this garbage send help). Although I could go on and on about the connotations of this post also being a two parter, I think that that joke and any other funny thing I’ve said have been overused into oblivion, mainly because I’m seriously not that creative. I mean just look at what I’ve done in the first 100 words: I tried to make an interesting opening (dear god), have used parenthesis multiple times already in order to make “jokes” (its not like you’ve got anything better), and now I’m making some sort of dumb meta rant that it in itself in terrible and entertaining. I mean, at this point, why don’t I just my fingers up and down the keyboard, throw in some images, and bam turn it in for a grade. Its not like anyone actually reads this trash.

Anyhow, after that existential crisis, time to write some things on topic in a futile attempt to achieve some sense of self merit.

Continuing with the Peru saga, I awoke this day like many others, tired, and not wanting to do anything with my life. However, also like many other things in life, I was forced to get on with it (Ex. This Blog Post).Luckily, today we were heading to Macchu Picchu, the lost city of the Incas, so exciting stuff right. After a breakfast as disappointing as those before it (thankfully the last one), we met up with Elliot took us to the train station where we would catch a ride to Augas Calliente, Macchu Picchu. The train, while simplistic, was much better then any garbage you could get in the good ol’ US of A, likely because in a mountainous country like Peru, the only real way to travel easily is via train.

The train ride was very calm, and I spent the majority of it listening to my signature 80’s alternative rock while gazing at the passing landscapes and munching on the basic snack they gave us.

After an hour of chilling, we arrived in Augas Calliente, and, while moving through the town on the way to our bus to Macchu Picchu, were treated to even more sights, at least, after we passed through the tourist trap palooza that was the train station.

The famous bus ride up to Macchu Picchu, was, of course, terrifying, as you slowly advance up the mountain at ridiculous speeds with 100 foot cliffs five feet away from you. While it did have a lot of great views, I was too busy hyperventilating to capture them all.

After a short recovery we reached the start of Macchu Picchu, where, after a small break at our hotel, the Belmond Macchu Picchu Sanctuary Lodge, we began our tour of the lost city of the Inca

As we passed through the entrance gate and headed towards the city, the suspense was building.

As we rounded the corner, I felt my breath float away in the endless abyss as I was greeted with what is appropriately a wonder of the world.

This Outer wall, while nothing special compared to what was behinds it, still succeeded in making me appreciate the power of human intuition. As we continued, Elliot brought us a nearby hill so that we could get a view of the lost city from above before we ventured into it.

After a little more walking, we got an even better view. This amazing sight only lasted for a few seconds, as in the unpredictability of Peru, its not uncommon for clouds to cover up everything. And yet, there was something completely beautiful about seeing what gives it its name of, “the city in the clouds”.

Soon afterwards, we descended into the city, where Elliot showed us the intricate working of the architecture and the believed purpose of certain items. While I could narrate all of this and spend three hours doing so, AP’s have completely made me lose all senses of motivation, so enjoy like 30 pictures with zero to no context. Once again, I apologize.

Of course, I couldn’t waste this opportunity to take a few terrible selfies to be disappointed about in a few Y̶e̶a̶r̶s M̶o̶n̶t̶h̶s days.

After a short cringe break, We continued with our exploration

After this, we made our exit out of Macchu Picchu for the day and headed for a late lunch at the buffet outside the entrance. It was nothing special, but they did have some really cool live music.

Afterwards, rain started coming down hard, and for safety reasons, we decided to not be idiotic tourists and call it a day, going back to our hotel and getting some rest.

The Macchu Picchu Sanctuary Lodge was actually really nice, and was my favorite hotel we stayed at on this trip. The rooms were really comfy but, as Ill soon discuss, that wasn’t the best part.

After some much need relaxation from the high altitude hiking, We headed down to the hotels restaurant for dinner. Due to prior experience with the Belmond, I was gloom fully looking towards another night of disappointment. But, it came to my surprise, that here, at the top of the freaking world, I would finally find the food I had been looking for this whole time.

I got there grilled chicken breast in quinoa crust, filled with cheese and ham, simply because I was craving chicken. For something with as much going on as that, you wouldn’t really expect amazingness, but this chef, this chef knew what he was doing

I cant even describe what it was, it was just phenomenal, and I recommend anyone who visits Macchu Picchu to try this restaurant out. 

After some good ice cream I returned to my room and slipped into sleep, in order to prep for tomorrow’s adventure, Climbing Huanya Picchu.

