Tags

, , , , , ,

Last Saturday, after waking from what had felt like twenty-five minutes of sleep, I took a step outside onto the deck. For some reason unbeknownst to me, that morning I felt especially energetic and thought to myself that this day would be different from the rest. With a pep in my step, I gazed over the railing towards the horizon and was grazed with the wondrous sight of…

20170204_113015

this.

Regardless of how I felt, its seemed nature was not on my side as it greeted me with quite a grim and bleak sky, not what one would expect from the ever “sunny” Santa Barbara. It seems today will not be my day after all.

After that upset, I spent multiple hours accomplishing things of little to no importance, as I was too dispirited to really care.Despite this, around 1 o’clock, I realized no matter how gloomy I felt, I needed to at least go somewhere so I would have any material at all for this blog post. I tried to explain this concept of actually doing something with my life for once to my parents, but they were much too busy stressing about the effects of a pretentious blog on my college acceptance rate, as apparently, I could “offend” others. In the end, I was able to convince my father to take me somewhere.

We got in our car and began our descent out of the hills towards downtown. Once we arrived at the metropolitan trash bag that is State Street, we began to look for parking. I will never why whoever designed t20170204_135813his godforsaken town decided to center it on State Street, as it makes it so much harder to do single tasks without wasting valuable minutes going through one-way streets in a futile attempt to find parking. After circling for what felt like an eternity we finally found a spot in the lot behind Sack’s. My father decided to drag me to a place he told me is fantastic,  Norton’s Deli.

When we arrived at Norton’s Deli I noticed it was very crowded, especially for such a small space, although this may be simply because of the Santa Barbara herd mentality. The second thing that struck me was the menu, which was quite extreme in its length, though I don’t have enough experiences with sandwich shops to say it was unusual.

20170204_13593520170204_135827

.20170204_135841

After around 10 minutes of waiting, we reached the front of the line. While I had planned to get their Avocado Philly Cheese-steak, as it’s an item I’ve never seen done before, and because I was craving the soft creaminess of avocado, the man at the register informed me he was out of avocado. So in a rash decision, I decided to order the regular Philly cheese steak instead while my father ordered a roast beef sandwich. Since there was no room to stand inside, I decided to wait outside, and it seems the restaurant had planned for that as they had strange protrusions from the side of the restaurant that acted like benches. Once our food arrived, we were luckily able to grab one of the few tables in the establishment where I was surprisingly impressed.

20170204_141404

The Roast Beef Sandwich and Philly Cheese-steak

Both of the sandwiches looked very flavorful and they both tasted so. However, after the first few bites, I noticed that the taste of both sandwiches changed. The warmth of the sandwiches, combined with the different flavors of the various sandwiches, caused anything unique that I had first tasted be replaced by the same dull warmth. Nonetheless, I could have just ordered something not that great, which is to be expected when a menu is that large.

Inside the Lobero Theater, where, "Land of Mine," was shown.

Inside the Lobero Theater, where, “Land of Mine,” was shown.

 

20170204_155034

Our Passes

After what had felt like quite a disappointing lunch, my father, quite the film buff, decided to let me come with him to a movie at the Santa Barbara Independent Film Festival. The movie tonight was, “Land of Mine,” which name is quite a pun for such a depressing, bleak, yet beautiful film. It centers around the end of world war II in which 14 young German boys are prevented from returning home by the Danish authorities unless they disarm all two million mines left by the Germans on the Danish coast. The movie is horrifying, tense, and demolishing, as the young boys one by one die from the risky work. I left the theater feeling emotionally drained and demolished, as the film succeeded in making me feel connections to each of the stories characters. I felt so shaken at the end of the film that I was almost desensitized by what I had just seen.

Which brings us to today’s title, “Bland Skies.” For some reason, I felt like today was a great representation of the idea of numbness. Even though multiple events occurred,  I felt as if this day was not unlike the endless stream of others. I always felt this same weight on my back, telling me that there wasn’t anything unique occurring. It was a day in which I felt numb and bland, and of course desensitized. I use those three words to describe it because it’s exactly what occurred. I woke up to a bland sky, Went to a restaurant where the food left me with nothing but a warm numbingness, and ended the day with a movie that destroyed me so much that It only strengthened the effects of the other days. Even though multiple events occurred,  I felt as if this day was no more important the endless stream of others.

Have you guys ever had days in which you felt like nothing of any importance occurred? Share with me in the comments below.

